Tim Wakefield announced his retirement last week, joining Chuck Finley and George Uhle as pitchers who finished with exactly 200 wins, and Dennis Martinez & Milt Pappas as those who got there without ever winning more than 17 in a season. Wakefield also wound up 6 wins shy of the Red Sox franchise record, shared by a couple of no-names, Cy Young and Roger Clemens.

At the end of 2011, Wakefield was MLB’s active leader in nine pitching categories:

The first 5 of those crowns were already slated for recovery by comeback kid Jamie Moyer, as soon as the 49-year-old appears in a real game for Colorado. Moyer’s totals: 267 Wins, 204 Losses, 4,020.1 IP, 1,892 ER, 511 HRs (the all-time record) and 17,102 Batters Faced. He’ll also be the leader with 628 Games Started, 4,156 Hits and 5,600 Baserunners.

Until Moyer officially regains the status, the active leaders are:

Some leadership posts were already held by others; the starred ones are not threatened by Moyer:

If Moyer doesn’t make it to Opening Day, Halladay’s 188 wins will be the lowest active leading total since 1949, when Bob Feller began the year with 177 wins. No other season in modern history has begun with the active leader having fewer than 190 wins.

Subscribe to: RSS feed