COG 1939 Results: Yaz/No Question

Voters had no problem spelling Yastrzemski, or something close enough, to easily make Carl the 37th inductee into the Circle of Greats.  More on Yaz and the voting after the jump.

Most Wins Above Replacement In A Season, By A Position Player, in AL History (b-ref version of WAR):
1. Babe Ruth (1923) 14.0
2. Babe Ruth (1921) 12.9
T3. Carl Yastrzemski (1967) and Babe Ruth (1927) 12.4
5. Babe Ruth (1920) 11.5


Most Regular Season Games Played for a Single Franchise:
1. Carl Yastrzemski, Red Sox 3,308
2. Hank Aaron, Braves 3,076
3. Stan Musial, Cardinals 3,026
4. Cal Ripken, Orioles 3,001
5. Brooks Robinson, Orioles 2,896
6. Willie Mays, Giants 2,857
7. Robin Yount, Brewers 2,856
8. Craig Biggio, Astros 2,850
9. Al Kaline, Tigers 2,834
10. Ty Cobb, Tigers 2,806


Our two most recent inductees into the Circle of Greats, Pete Rose and Carl Yastrzemski, played in more major league games than anyone else in history.  They were also contemporaries, born about 20 months apart, with their careers in the majors overlapping from 1963 through 1983, a 21-season span.  The only games in which they both participated (not counting exhibitions such as Grapefruit League games and All-Star Games) were the seven games of the dramatic 1975 World Series (Rose was voted the MVP of that Series).  Hank Aaron is third all-time in games played. There were only 22 games in which you could have seen both Yaz and Aaron play.


–Yaz appeared on about 78% of the ballots in this round of the Circle of Greats voting and his induction was never in doubt.  But Phil Niekro was also embraced by voters, appearing on an impressive 57% of the ballots and earning a full four rounds of guaranteed ballot eligibility, if he needs it.

–Among the holdovers, Luis Tiant fell short of the support needed to keep him on the ballot, so he drops off, after just one round on the holdover list,  and will not appear on next round’s ballot.  Most pitching WAR by a Red Sox pitcher over the period of Yastrzemski’s career: Tiant (36.4 WAR), Dennis Eckersley (21.6), Bob Stanley (20.4), Bill Lee (18.8), Dick Radatz (18.3).

–Roberto Alomar has been on the ballot for all 37 rounds we’ve conducted, and will remain.  But it was a close thing this time, as Alomar appeared on only 10.3% of the ballots, barely over the 10% level required for a player on the bubble to remain on the ballot.  Kenny Lofton didn’t make the 10% level and thus loses the one round of cushion that he had built up — he’ll be on the bubble next round, along with continuing bubble guys Alomar, Sandberg, Stargell, Eddie Murray and Dick Allen.

–John Smoltz and Bobby Grich also fell short of the 10% of ballot appearances required to avoid losing a round of guaranteed eligibility, so Smoltz will drop from 9 to 8 rounds, and Grich from 6 to 5 rounds, of a guaranteed spot on the ballot.

–Lastly, Dave Winfield and Rick Reuschel received the two highest levels of support in the third Redemption Round vote, which we held simultaneously with the 1939 voting.  Reuschel finished just slightly ahead of Kevin Brown and Dwight Evans for that second-highest spot.  By finishing in the top two in “Redemption Round 3” ballot appearances, Winfield and Reuschel earn a place back on the main ballot next round, where they will join the rest of the “on the bubble” group.

The full spreadsheet showing this round’s vote tally is here: COG 1939 Vote Tally.

The overall vote summary for all Circle of Greats voting rounds is here: COG Vote Summary , with a summary of the raw vote totals on Sheet 1 and a summary of the percentage totals on Sheet 2.

Here’s the Circle of Greats membership thus far, now in order of date of birth, from earlier to later.  Thank you to commenter David Horwich, who posted a comment recently that included, among other things, all the COG inductees listed by birth year.  That list served as the base layout for the current ordering below of COG inductees:
Carl Yastrzemski
Pete Rose
Ferguson Jenkins
Joe Morgan
Tom Seaver
Steve Carlton
Rod Carew
Jim Palmer
Reggie Jackson
Nolan Ryan
Johnny Bench
Carlton Fisk
Mike Schmidt
Bert Blyleven
George Brett
Gary Carter
Ozzie Smith
Robin Yount
Paul Molitor
Alan Trammell
Wade Boggs
Rickey Henderson
Tim Raines
Tony Gwynn
Cal Ripken
Roger Clemens
Randy Johnson
Barry Larkin
Barry Bonds
Tom Glavine
Greg Maddux
Curt Schilling
Larry Walker
Jeff Bagwell and Frank Thomas
Mike Piazza
Mike Mussina

Leave a Reply

12 Comments on "COG 1939 Results: Yaz/No Question"

Notify of
Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
John Autin

For age 27-30, Yaz’s 4-year total of 37.7 WAR is 2nd all-time for that age span (less than 1 WAR behind T.Williams). For any age span, that WAR total has been topped by only 10 players: Cobb, Mantle, Mays, Ruth, Gehrig, Wagner, Hornsby, Williams, Joe Morgan, and Bonds.

Yaz is one of 11 players with at least two 10-WAR years, and one of 16 with at least three 9-WAR years.

Lawrence Azrin

Babe Ruth probably would’ve surpassed Yaz for age 27-30 WAR, if he hadn’t been suspended the 1st six weeks of the 1922 season for barnstorming after the 1921 WS (he had 35.5 WAR).

Anytime you’re listed in a ‘best-of’ with Ruth, Cobb, Mays, Williams, etc… it’s mighty impressive.

Dr. Doom
It’s been a few rounds since one of my COG recaps, in which I analyze the total votes players have received. I’ll just give one quick update, and that’s on the all-time COG votes leader race. Then I’ll get to something different. John Smoltz is the all-time votes leader with 464 votes, and that in 35 rounds of voting (he was not eligible the first year) – a fairly impressive 13 votes per round. Although he was well short of that in 1939, he was right around there in 1940.2, and well above that level in 1940.1. Roberto Alomar is… Read more »
Artie Z.

Wait, we don’t have time of birth during the day to put Bagwell and Thomas in order? We are slacking as a research community.

Richard Chester

Not that it matters but Yaz is one of only 4 players to lead the league in hits and walks in the same year. In 1963 he had 183 H and 95 BB. The other 3 players are Rogers Hornsby, Richie Ashburn and Lenny Dykstra.

Lawrence Azrin

Is 68 votes the most for any round so far?